New Scout Info

Typical Cub Scout Activities

  • Monthly Pack and Den meetings (Sunday afternoons).
  • Sports and Games
  • Hands-on, age-appropriate learning experiences and crafts.
  • Outdoor activities, including hiking and camping.
  • Visit local police/fire/medical stations
  • Fundraising activities (where possible)
  • Perform service projects around Austin
  • Rain Gutter Regatta
  • Pinewood Derby
  • Blue and Gold Ceremony (end of year)

Cub Scout Ranks (or Where You’ll be Placed)

  • Lions Kindergartners.
  • Bobcat – All new Cub Scouts (and Lions) must earn the Bobcat Badge before advancing on to Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos.
  • Tigers – First Graders / 7-year-olds
  • Wolf – Second Graders / 8-year-olds
  • Bear – Third Graders / 9-year-olds
  • Webelos – Fourth Graders / 10 year-olds
  • Arrow of Light – Highest rank in Cub Scouts, preparing Webelos to become a Boy Scout. This is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on a Boy Scout uniform.
Cub Scout Logos